New Running Shoes + Post Run Fuel

I guess I am claiming my woman card here and saying it- I love my new shoes. Don’t get me wrong, I loved my old shoes, but they needed to be upgraded desperately. The past 500 miles had been rough on them, and they were giving my IT Band some major troubles. So, my parents gifted me with a beautiful new pair for Christmas (Thanks Mom and Dad!)

I loved my old new balance sneakers, but the treads on the bottom edges of both feet were completely worn away- and the foam sole was fading fast. I haven't thrown them away yet though, old shoes die hard!

I loved my old new balance sneakers, but the treads on the bottom edges of both feet were completely worn away- and the foam sole was fading fast. I haven’t thrown them away yet though, old shoes die hard!

Today I had a nice run in my new ASICS, and breezed through my favorite route, dropping thirty seconds from my average pace. Morale of the story: Buy new shoes if yours are falling apart, a runner needs her shoes!

After the quick seven miler, I fueled up with a cute product I found at Meijer last week. Called “Coco Wheats”, this product was easy to make, delicious, and customizable. Basically, the box contains ground wheat and cocoa that you cook in the microwave for an instant bowl of warm porridge. The texture is similar to oatmeal, but more chewy. It cooks faster than roller oats, so in a hurry, it is extremely practical!

Look how cute this box is!

Look how cute this box is!

And look at these ingredients! Yes, I do acknowledge that some artificial flavoring is used, but this is DEFINITELY a much cleaner product that instant oatmeal, which con taints a slew of nasty chemicals and sweeteners on a list a mile long.

And look at these ingredients! Yes, I do acknowledge that some artificial flavoring is used, but this is DEFINITELY a much cleaner product that instant oatmeal, which containts a slew of nasty chemicals and sweeteners on a list a mile long.

After my run, I was chilly and in need of a warm filling bowl for my tummy. I cooked three tablespoons of the Coco Wheat with a cup of almond milk for about 3.5 minutes, stopping to stir every 20 seconds or so. I then stirred in 1/3 a cup of egg whites (make sure you stir thoroughly and fast, to avoid egg chunks, YUCK!), a handful of raspberries, a tablespoon of peanut butter, and some more almond milk. After thirty more seconds in the microwave, another good stir, and a few extra raspberries, the Coco Wheats were ready to eat!

This was delicious!

This was delicious!

You could make something similar with quick oats, oat bran, plain wheat bran, coconut flour, the options are endless! You would just have to add some cocoa powder!

What are some of your favorite post-workout munchies?

Leave a Reply

