Cranberry Peppermint Bark Oatmeal

I love the determination that accompanies a new year. The resolutions that pile one on top of another as people determine exactly who they want to be when the new year comes crashing by. 2015 is no exception, and I have witnessed people left and right pinpoint the reinventions that will lead them into a new year, a new change, a new them.

Perhaps even more exciting than the prospect of potential changes is the achievement of those goals as the year passes by. Not all dreams will be realized, I am realistic in that sense. I know that many people will make goals that will sit unfulfilled in a sad little wish tucked away in a drawer. But those few that rise above the failures prove to me that anything is possible. “Shoot for the moon, even if you miss you will land among the stars” -Anonymous

I have a few goals for myself this year- goals that make me nervous, anxious, maybe a little fearful. Goals that make me excited and ready to change. I am ambitious and I am proud of that fact. I have always been rather fond of sticking to my hopes and aspirations, and 2015 shall be no exception.

But let us venture back into the realm of the present. Today I perfected a recipe that had been in the works for a while now. It must be a sign, for such perfection to happen on the last day of 2014. After I took the first bite I knew that this was recipe that had to be shared. It includes some winter essentials, pomegranate and cranberry bits that add delectable bursts of flavor. The baking of the oatmeal adds an effect of a celebration. And the ever-present shredded zucchini adds some nutrition without stealing any decadence.

This was definitely a good breakfast to end 2014. As sad as it is to acknowledge that this year is coming to a close, for it has most definitely been a fantastic one, I am extremely excited to reach toward a new year, a new change, and a new me.

Cranberry Peppermint Bark Oatmeal with Pomegranate Arils

Ingredients
1/2 cup rolled oatmeal
1/2 cup shredded zucchini
1/4 cup fresh cranberries
1/4 cup pomegranate arils
1/4 cup unsweetened almond milk
1 egg white
1 tbs coconut flour
4 squares chopped dark chocolate, or a handful of chocolate chips
Handful of nut of choice (I used pistachio)
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon peppermint extract

Directions

1) Preheat the oven to 375F
2) Cook the shredded zucchini in the microwave with a splash of water for two minutes and thirty seconds.
3) Remove from the microwave and add all of the wet ingredients. Stir well, and then add all of the dry ingredients.
4) Grease a oven safe ramekin or bowl, and pour the batter inside. It should be thick but not dry or clumpy.
5) Bake for 25-30 minutes, until desired consistency is reached.
6) Remove from the oven, and top with pomegranate seeds, more chocolate, a dash of cocoa powder, or even some crushed peppermint if that is what you choose. Devour!!

Adorned with extra pomegranate seeds, this oatmeal bowl quickly stole my heart!

Adorned with extra pomegranate seeds, this oatmeal bowl quickly stole my heart!

Leave a Reply

